26

2

Wall of never-ending colorful youth.

First day of the second half of the year. First of July. I turn 18 for the 8th year.

I had a productive day. Heard two mass in two churches with most number of devotees. Took public transit. Unlike in most part of the world where there’s summer sun, here, July could be the wettest month. Luckily, it didn’t rain until we were home that afternoon. But of all, it was truly a happy birthday for having spent it with my light and rock– Dad. 

Collate

First stop: Baclaran Church ; Second stop: Quiapo Church

I lit three candles for three very specific intentions. One of which is to grant my Dad’s heart desires… in hopes that he wishes for me to find that “better version of myself” as i go on my sabbatical and for me to find real happiness more than what chocolates or a wine can give. Because praying for others works twice as much, right? 😉

3

That weekend, my parents threw me an intimate birthday slash despedida party. As befitting as it is for the occasion, I called for a travel-theme. From the pica-pica food of hotdogs with marshmallows to colorful paper plane and balloon decors. My closest friends were in attendance (Monica and Apple), cousins, nephews and nieces, Titos and Titas from both sides of the family were all there as well. The party was filled with simple food, well wishes, prayers, and promise of farther (and hopefully longer) travels.

I don’t have a lot and I could ask for something more but with all honesty, i felt enough. Something that tells me all’s gewd. Or at least, it will be.

1

In exactly 19 days from today, I will be on a plane to Thailand. Leaving the comforts of home to discover my own elsewhere.

Not ideal, but what is life without risks? I’m 26. I choose my playground and I prefer mud and slides.

Cheers to chances,

Charlene

LOGO-better

Let me hear from you

