Beets the heat with this Juice

aa-20150419111139

Last night was my first time to check out Greenfield district in Mandaluyong City. Being the far-northern girl that I am, anywhere beyond Pasig City is too much for me to pay a visit especially on a pay-day weekend which equally means traffic all over town. But I was glad that I went there to do two things: 1. Catch up with friends and 2. Hoard organic produce!

It’s a typical Mercato with a number of different food concessionaires ranging from main course to pastries to desserts to beverages. There are even stalls for clothes, vinyls, accessories, and paintings. I was not in the mood to eat anything other than Empanda last night, so while strolling around and surveying concessionaires, i saw Homegrown Organics, a stall selling organic produce! According to the sales person, their organic farm is in Batangas and they participate in weekend markets in Greenfield and in Taguig. For more information about them, you may add them on Facebook just like i did.

At least once a week (usually during weekends), i do juicing to detoxify. I’m scheduled for grocery shopping today for my weekend juice but Greenfield Mercato happened so I bought Kale, Arugula, Lettuce, and Beets.

With Beets being the main item i bought last night, then it means Beets are going to be the main ingredient for my weekend juice. So what nutrients do we get out of these plum-colored goodies?

Beets are loaded with vitamins A, B1, B2, B6 and C. They are also an excellent source of calcium, magnesium, copper, phosphorus, sodium and iron. It is a remarkable source of choline, folate, iodine, manganese, organic sodium, potassium, fiber and carbohydrates in the form of natural digestible sugars. 

Its iron content, though not high, is of the highest and finest quality that makes excellent food that is blood building. This renders it highly effective in treating many ailments caused by our toxic environment and surrounding. (Info from Jucing For Health)

Here’s the recipe for my refreshing Beets Juice.

Preparation Time: 15 mins
Ingredients:

5 pcs Beetroots (small)
1 cup Kale
1 cup Arugula
1 pc Cucumber (ave size)
1 1/2 cup Pineapple

Note: Only the Pineapple is not an organic produce.

Procedure:
Wash the vegetables thoroughly, especially the Beets, as it is covered with soil. Depends on the juicer you are using, cut or break the veggies to fit in accordingly. If you find the pulp watery, you may opt to have a second squeeze. Drink the juice immediately.

aa-20150419113141

Finish product. How lovely and refreshing is that color!

Notice the glass i used? Yes, that’s a glass container of a local cheese spread brand!

aa-20150419113220

Upcycling at its finest!

Before, I only use water glass for drinking my juice but then I noticed how we have loads of glass containers from cheese spreads, condiments, and other preserves, so i thought, why not use it for my juices as well? Later, I realized how much I have taken these containers for granted when:

  • It has a wide-mouth
  • It’s glass
  • It has air-tight lid
  • It’s sustainable!

While we are going crazy over mason jars, there are cheap and sustainable alternatives right in our very homes. I just love how I get to be reminded of recycling and up-cycling not just on things but food as well. I guess it really helps to have an overly-stocked mom 😉

Don’t you feel proud of protecting Mother Earth by supporting organic farming together with recycling materials from our usual consumption? Yey for continuous sustainability!

Happy Juicing (and recycling)!

Charlene

gp logo

2 thoughts on “Beets the heat with this Juice

Let me hear from you

