Lunch Pack Series: Spinach + Egg

IMG_20150205_123541

Popoye’s Pita

If you are a friend or a sucker for the hashtag “homecooked”, you have probably seen my lunch-pack or baon (in Tagalog) posts on Instagram. Since I have pledged to eating better, I have been sharing what I prepare at home to eat for lunch in the office. I try to have as much variety as I can since having a cleaner plate demands more greens and less artificial or sodium-infused ingredients.

One of my staple combo is Spinach + Egg.

Again, I did not switch to eating healthier because I am on a summer-related “Balik-alindog Program”. I am doing my body a favor by taking in limited (hopefully, to very limited) toxic materials. That is more than just a seasonal motivation, it is a life-long commitment. I would be a hypocrite if I say I am not in it for the weight-loss benefit, oh hell yeah, of course I am! But I am not gonna put pressure on the matter like a ticking bomb because weight loss is both a process and a discipline. More on that soon.

Spinach is a well-known plant for its nutritional qualities and remarkable abilities to restore energy, increase vitality, and improve the quality of the blood. According to BBC Good Food, Spinach is rich in iron. Iron plays a central role in the function of red blood cells which help in transporting oxygen around the body, in energy production and DNA synthesis. Spinach is also an excellent source of vitamin K, vitamin A, vitamin C and folic acid as well as being a good source of manganese, magnesium, iron and vitamin B2. Vitamin K is important for maintaining bone health and it is difficult to find vegetables richer in vitamin K than spinach. Others include kale, broccoli and green cabbage.

IMG_20150316_120532

Spinach Egg Omelet with Veggie Crackers

Its other half, Eggs, are rich in high-quality protein and cheaper alternative for meat. Eggs are low in calories, though eating in moderation is expected as it is regarded to have high-cholesterol content. Most of an egg’s protein is in the white portion while the cholesterol is found in the egg yolk. Despite its cholesterol content, egg yolks also come packed with different vitamins and trace minerals for optimal health benefits.

Being on a regular office shift, time is just as important as preparing a fulling but healthy packed lunch. So here are my favorite quick and easy-to-prepare recipes with Spinach and Egg:

1. Popoye’s Pita

Preparation Time: 30mins
Ingredients:

1 pc Regular size Pita Pockets
1 tsp Olive oil
2 pcs Egg, beaten
1.5 cup Organic Spinach
1 tbsp Grated Mozzarella
Pepper

Procedure:
Saute spinach in olive oil. Once Spinach is cooked, add beaten egg and mozzarella. Saute like you do a scrambled egg. Season with pepper to taste. Heat pita pockets then cut into four and fill in with Spinach-Egg scramble.

Note: Mozzarella adds saltiness to the dish so I omit seasoning with salt.

2. Spinach Omelet

Preparation Time: 20mins
Ingredients:

1 tsp Olive oil
2 pcs Egg
1.5 cup Organic Spinach
Salt
Pepper
Vegetable/Wheat/Whole grain crackers

Procedure:
Saute spinach in olive oil. Once Spinach is cooked, add egg and season with salt and pepper to taste. Make sure to cook this is low heat for a perfect omelet. Eat with crackers or as is.

Happy green eating!

Charlene

gp logo

Let me hear from you

